·

10 min read

Instagram carousel limits: 20 slides, sizes, video and API rules

Instagram carousel limits: up to 20 photos and videos in the app and the API

An Instagram carousel can hold up to 20 photos and videos in one feed post. Instagram’s Help Center gives that figure for the app. Meta’s Content Publishing API documentation gives the same figure for carousels published by scheduling tools and other apps. The older limit of 10 still shows up in guides written before 2024, and in some tools that set their own, lower cap.

This guide covers every carousel limit Instagram documents: how many items a carousel holds, what size and shape each slide can be, what the slides share, what you can edit after posting and how the API rules differ from the app. Every figure comes from Instagram’s Help Center or Meta’s developer documentation, read on 30 October 2026.

LimitWhat Instagram documents
Items per carouselUp to 20 photos and videos, in the app and through the API
Mixing photos and videosAllowed. The API’s wording is “a mix of the two”
Photo widthUploaded at up to 1080 pixels wide
Supported aspect ratiosFrom 1.91:1 (landscape) to 3:4 (portrait), so 1080 × 566 to 1080 × 1440 pixels
OrientationOne orientation for every slide in the post
CaptionsOne caption for the post. The iPhone app also offers a caption for each item
MusicCan be added to photo carousels but not to carousels that contain a video
Editing after postingReorder or remove items and edit the caption, location and tags. New items cannot be added
Videos in a carouselNot treated as Reels and do not appear in the Reels tab
Posts per 24 hours (API)100 API-published posts. Each carousel counts as one post

You can put up to 20 photos and videos in one Instagram carousel. Instagram’s Help Center article “Share a post with multiple photos or videos on Instagram” says you can share “up to 20 photos and videos as a single post”. The same 20 applies whether the carousel holds only photos, only videos or a mix of both.

To post a carousel on a computer, click Create, click Post, then Select from computer, choose multiple files and select up to 20. On iPhone, tap Create, tap POST, tap SELECT MULTIPLE and select up to 20 photos and videos from your library. Instagram warns that posts with several videos “may take longer to upload”, so use a reliable connection.

Why you can only add 10 photos

Instagram raised the limit from 10 to 20 in August 2024 and rolled it out gradually. Some users kept the old limit for a while, according to coverage at the time. If you still see 10 today, there are two likely reasons:

  • An old version of the app. Update Instagram from the App Store or Google Play and try again.
  • A third-party tool with its own cap. Scheduling and design apps choose how many items they accept. Meta’s API allows 20, so a lower figure is the tool’s limit, not Instagram’s.

Instagram’s Help Center article “Image resolution of photos you share on Instagram” says photos are shared at up to 1080 pixels wide. Photos keep their original resolution when the aspect ratio is between 1.91:1 and 3:4, which the article describes as a width of 1080 pixels and a height between 566 and 1440 pixels. Instagram crops a photo with an unsupported ratio. It enlarges a photo narrower than 320 pixels and shrinks one wider than 1080.

ShapeRatioSize at 1080 px wide
Tallest portrait3:41080 × 1440
Portrait4:51080 × 1350
Square1:11080 × 1080
Widest landscape1.91:11080 × 566

The 3:4 and 1.91:1 rows are the limits Instagram’s article states. The 4:5 and 1:1 rows are common ratios that fall within that range.

For a seamless or panorama carousel, where one image runs across several slides, the canvas width is arithmetic from the 1080-pixel figure, not an Instagram rule: multiply the number of slides by 1080 pixels. Ten 4:5 slides make a 10,800 × 1350 pixel canvas, cut into ten 1080 × 1350 slides; three square slides make 3240 × 1080.

For a carousel, the shape matters more than for a single photo, because every slide uses the same orientation. The Help Center article says the orientation you choose “affects all of the photos or videos in your post” and that you can’t pick a different one for each item. Design all slides at one size. A 3:4 portrait slide next to a 1:1 square slide will be cropped to match. Stories handle the space around a photo differently from feed posts; what Instagram’s help pages say about Story backgrounds covers that separately.

Some carousel settings apply to the whole post and some apply to each item. Instagram’s carousel article describes seven:

SettingApplies toWhat Instagram’s article says
OrientationWhole postSquare, portrait or landscape, the same for every item
FiltersEitherOne filter for every item, or edit and filter each item individually
CaptionDepends on deviceiPhone: “Single caption” or “Multiple captions” (one per item). Computer: one caption for the post
LocationWhole postOne location per post
People tagsEach itemTag someone in each individual photo
Likes and commentsWhole postThey appear on the entire post, not on individual slides
VideosEach itemCarousel videos “are not considered reels” and do not show in the Reels tab

Two of these trip up a lot of posts. First, because carousel videos are not Reels, a video placed in a carousel does not get Reels distribution or Reels features. Second, Instagram’s article “Add music to a post with multiple photos on Instagram” says “Music cannot be added to carousels with videos.” If a client wants a soundtrack, the carousel has to be photos only.

Yes, partly. Instagram’s article says that after sharing a carousel you can reorder the content, remove photos or videos and edit the caption or captions, the location and the accounts you’ve tagged. Open the three-dot menu on the post, select Edit, long-press to reorder, then select Done.

You cannot add a slide after posting. The article says you “can’t add new photos or videos” once the carousel is shared, though you can delete the post. Instagram documents no way to replace a slide’s file either. If a client asks for one more slide the day after launch, the choice is between leaving the carousel as it is and deleting it and posting it again. Confirm every slide is final before you post.

Scheduling tools and other apps publish carousels through Meta’s Content Publishing API. Meta’s guide for it says “Carousels are limited to 20 images, videos, or a mix of the two”, the same ceiling as the app. The guide covers Instagram professional accounts only, meaning accounts set to Business or Creator. (See what Instagram documents for Business, Creator and personal accounts.)

The item limit matches, but other rules differ:

LimitInstagram appContent Publishing API
Items per carouselUp to 20 photos and videosUp to 20 images, videos or a mix
CropOne orientation you choose for every itemEvery image cropped to the first image, 1:1 by default
CaptionsOne per post, or one per item on iPhoneOne caption on the carousel. Not supported on individual items
FiltersWhole post or per item“Filters are not supported.”
Image formatNot stated“JPEG is the only image format supported.”
ReelsCarousel videos are not ReelsReels cannot appear in carousels
Alt textNot coveredSupported on images, including images inside a carousel
AI-generated labelNot covered in the carousel articleSet on the carousel container. Setting it on individual items returns an error
Posts per 24 hoursNot stated100 API-published posts in a moving 24-hour window. A carousel counts as one post
ContainersNot applicableContainers expire after 24 hours. Up to 400 can be created in a rolling 24 hours

Sources: Meta for Developers, “Content Publishing” and the “IG User Media” reference, and Instagram’s Help Center carousel article.

As a result, a carousel published through a scheduling tool can look different from one posted in the app. There are no filters and no per-slide captions, PNG files have to be converted to JPEG, and every image takes the shape of the first one. Make the first slide the shape you want the whole carousel to be.

The daily cap needs care. Meta’s guide gives 100 posts per 24 hours in its Rate Limit section, but its carousel Limitations section still says 50 and does not explain the difference. Agencies that publish heavily to one account through the API should plan around the lower figure.

Meta’s Instagram Platform changelog dates carousel publishing through the API to 15 March 2022. On 20 October 2026, the changelog had no entry dating the move from 10 to 20. Checking a limit against the changelog before trusting an older guide is a habit worth keeping; read the changelog before it breaks your report explains why.

CheckWhat the documentation says
1. Is it 20 items or fewer?20 is the documented maximum in the app and the API.
2. Are all slides the same shape, between 1.91:1 and 3:4?The app uses one orientation for every slide. The API crops every image to the first.
3. Does each slide need its own caption?Only the iPhone app offers per-item captions. The API does not.
4. Does the client want music?Only if the carousel has no video in it.
5. Should a video earn Reels reach?Post it as a Reel. Carousel videos are not Reels.
6. Is every slide final?Slides can be removed or reordered after posting, but not added.
7. Going out through a scheduling tool?It must be a Business or Creator account, images must be JPEG and the tool may cap items below 20. If you schedule Instagram carousels through a third-party tool, check its item cap against the API’s 20 before building the slides.

What Instagram does not document

  • Maximum video length inside a carousel. Neither Instagram’s carousel article nor Meta’s API reference gives one. Meta’s reference lists video specifications for Reels and Stories only. Figures such as “60 seconds per slide” in third-party guides do not come from Instagram’s documentation.
  • Video file size per slide. Not stated in either source.
  • A minimum number of slides. A carousel is by definition more than one item, but Instagram states no separate minimum.
  • Which daily API figure applies. Meta’s guide gives both 100 and 50 posts per 24 hours.

A publishing limit is also not the same as an account restriction. For what triggers restrictions, see the post on what the platforms document about account restrictions. For how Meta labels AI-generated posts, see what Meta’s AI label actually catches.

FAQ

Up to 20. Instagram’s Help Center says a carousel holds up to 20 photos and videos, and Meta’s Content Publishing API documents the same limit for carousels published by apps.

Yes. The Help Center counts photos and videos together toward the 20, and the API describes carousels as images, videos or “a mix of the two”.

Use 1080 pixels wide and one ratio for every slide. Instagram supports ratios from 1.91:1 to 3:4, so 1080 × 1440 is the tallest portrait size, 1080 × 1350 is 4:5 and 1080 × 1080 is square.

Why can I only post 10 pictures on Instagram?

Ten was the old limit. Instagram raised it to 20 in 2024. Update the app. If you are posting through a scheduling or design tool, that tool may set its own limit below Instagram’s 20.

No. You can reorder or remove items and edit the caption, location and tags, but Instagram says new photos or videos cannot be added after sharing. The only other option is to delete the post and post it again.

No. Instagram’s music article says music cannot be added to carousels with videos. Music works on photo-only carousels.

No. Instagram says videos in carousels are not considered Reels and do not appear in the Reels tab or get Reels features.

How many carousels can you post per day through the API?

Meta’s guide allows 100 API-published posts per 24 hours, and a carousel counts as one post. The guide’s carousel section gives a lower figure of 50, so heavy publishers should plan for 50.

Sources

All sources read on 30 October 2026, except the IG User Media reference and the Platform changelog, last read on 20 October 2026.

Dinesh Agarwal Avatar